If You Only Can Use One Lens, Which One Would You Choose?

img_2912

This article is continuation of my previous article (about “which camera and lens do you use?”), you can read here if you haven’t read it. Nowadays I am sure that most of photographers who using DSLR usually have more than one lens – my question is simple “if you only can use one lens (let’s say for 1 year), which one would you choose?”

I know this article is subjective, that’s why I just write which lens I will pick and main reasons why I pick it.

I have used several lenses (some of them I have sold), most of them are Canon:

– Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

– Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS

– Tokina 12-24mm f/4

– Canon EF-S 10-22mm f/3.5-4.5

– Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L

– Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L

– Canon EF 135mm f/2L

– Canon EF 17-40mm f/4L

– Canon EF 15mm f/2.8 fisheye

– Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II

– Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II

– Canon EF 85mm f/1.2L II

– Canon EF 100mm f/2.8L IS macro

– Canon EF 200mm f/2L IS

– Nikkor AF-D 50mm f/1.4

From that list if I have to choose one lens then I will pick EF 17-40mm f/4L.

Main reason why I choose EF 17-40mm f/4L:

I shoot many kind of photographs (landscape, portrait (model), wedding, documentary, traveling, etc) so I need a wide-general lens.

Landscape:

IMG_8381a

Traveling:

IMG_5435b

IMG_5739

Portrait (model):

IMG_0371a

IMG_0396

Wedding:

IMG_5235

Still Life:

IMG_7252

IMG_7604

Festival / Event:

IMG_3300

IMG_3416

Documentary:

IMG_1627

IMG_1846

Random shot:

IMG_5620

IMG_7653bw

Other lenses that also can do almost similar with EF 17-40mm f/4L :

1. Canon EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II: this lens has bigger aperture (f/2.8), the quality also better but I don’t think it is worth compare to the price. Of course if money is not big problem then I will get this lens, but still I prefer to spend the same amount of money to buy other things.

2. Canon EF 24-70mm f/2.8L & Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS : I have ever tried these lenses, both are really nice lenses but in more cases I need wider focal length to shoot landscape. I prefer to sacrifice tele focal length (range) rather than wide focal length.

3. Canon EF 24mm f/1.4L II & Canon EF 35mm f/1.4L: I also have tried them, the quality of prime lens is really far better than zoom lens. Both lenses have big aperture, really help to shoot in low light condition. I love using prime lens but for shooting landscape & traveling sometimes I need wider focal length & a little bit focal range.

Thanks for reading my blog and article.

Back to the question again, “if you only can use one lens, which one would you choose?”

5 thoughts on “If You Only Can Use One Lens, Which One Would You Choose?

    • I know many people also love using fix 50mm on full frame camera, but if I only can choose fix lens I prefer to choose 24mm or 35mm (mount to full frame camera)….

Leave a Reply

