Fly me to Istanbul

IMG_7008

Finally I have an opportunity to visit Istanbul – really excited that I can visit it although I only have several hours to explore this city. For sure I taking some photos there, most of them are documentary / traveling photos – I don’t have enough time to shoot nice landscape photos. I hope you enjoy some photos that I took during short journey in Istanbul.

Before visiting Istanbul I already prepared everything (such as visa and museum ticket). If you have limited traveling time (just the same case like me) then I suggest you to purchase e-visa and e-ticket.

You can apply Turkey e-visa here, make sure you fill-in correct information and pay the e-visa after that.

If you know some location you want to visit, you may check this website to buy e-ticket (don’t waste your time queuing to buy the entrance ticket).

The first time you arrived in Ataturk airport, you can go to city by taxi or public transportation. At that time, I use public transportation (metro and tram) to enter the city. You can check the map of metro & tram here. The cost for one journey is one jetton / coin ( one jetton = 3 Turkish Lira).

As a tourist who just visit Istanbul at first time, I need to visit many places as I can. I have heard the famous place such as Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, Basilica Cistern, Topkapi Palace, etc – and I have checked their location are nearby to Sultanahmet tram station. In order get into Sultanahmet tram station from Havalimani (airport) you need 2 jettons. From Havalimani, you can first go to Zeytinburnu by metro (M1) and change to tram (T1) then stop at Sultanahmet.

The first place I visit is Blue Mosque (but unfortunately I come on Friday (longer praying time) ) – I afraid I can’t visit other places if I wait there so I just take a look Blue Mosque exterior.

IMG_7021bw

IMG_7025

IMG_7027

IMG_7031

IMG_7041

IMG_7066

Next place I visit after Blue Mosque is Hagia Sophia / Ayasofya (I just need to walk about 5-10 minutes to go to Hagia Sophia).

IMG_7081

IMG_7084

IMG_7099

During my visit, there is construction work in Hagia Sophia (I have read it in travel forum), but I still want to see the interior of Hagia Sophia. Entrance ticket is 25 TL, I think the price is not so expensive – since I can take many photos there ^^.

IMG_7112

IMG_7122

IMG_7126

IMG_7128

IMG_7130

As you can see, there is construction work inside of Hagia Sophia (left side).

IMG_7236

I really love the interior of Hagia Sophia, I just can say “wow”

IMG_7137

IMG_7140

IMG_7151

IMG_7153

IMG_7155

IMG_7178

IMG_7180

IMG_7185

IMG_7198

IMG_7235

IMG_7196

IMG_7209

IMG_7217

IMG_7218

IMG_7201

IMG_7221

IMG_7225

IMG_7230

The left side part which is being reconstructed.

IMG_7238

IMG_7241

Going to 2nd floor of Hagia Sophia.

IMG_7249

IMG_7250

IMG_7253

IMG_7255

IMG_7265

IMG_7272

IMG_7259

IMG_7256

IMG_7273

Next place after Hagia Sophia is Topkapi Palace Museum. I know I will spend about 3 – 4 hours to see this one so I move faster. Entrance ticket of Topkapi Palace Museum is 25 TL, additional 15 TL to enter Harem area. If you really big fans of history / museum maybe you can hire guide or borrow audio guide – but for me, it’s enough to see item description / explanation. It is prohibited to taking photo inside the museum so I don’t have any photos of beautiful items there, but for sure most of items are contained gold, jewelry (especially emerald and ruby). The famous items there are Topkapi Dagger and Spoonmaker’s Diamond. Also there are many relics in Privy Chamber such as cloak of prophet Muhammad, footprint of prophet Muhammad, staff of Mosses, turban of Joseph, etc.

IMG_7286

IMG_7288

IMG_7289

IMG_7292

IMG_7297

The Gate of Salutation.

IMG_7300

IMG_7305

IMG_7307

IMG_7310

IMG_7314

IMG_7316

The Gate of Felicity.

IMG_7318

IMG_7330

IMG_7336

Famous hollow tree in Topkapi Palace Museum.

IMG_7333

I can see a beautiful scenery from this spot, really nice spot (although many people in this spot).

IMG_7355

Restaurant and the beautiful scenery.

IMG_7348

IMG_7356

IMG_7359

IMG_7378

IMG_7386

IMG_7407

IMG_7421

IMG_7424

IMG_7427

IMG_7428

Before leaving Topkapi Palace Museum, I also spend time to visit Harem of Topkapi Palace.  As I read in other traveling forum, guide or audio guide is required to enter this area – but when I visit it the guard let me in (even without guide / audio guide).

IMG_7439

IMG_7440

IMG_7447

IMG_7451

IMG_7458

IMG_7467

IMG_7468

IMG_7472

IMG_7473

IMG_7476

IMG_7480

IMG_7486

IMG_7488

IMG_7498

IMG_7501

IMG_7503

IMG_7506

IMG_7508

It’s time to move from Topkapi Palace Museum to other location.

IMG_7518

The next location to visit is Galata Tower. Galata Tower is not located nearby Sultanahmet tram station so I need to take tram (T1) to Karakoy tram station. From Karakoy tram station I walk about 10 minutes to Galata tower.

IMG_7533

IMG_7541

IMG_7543

IMG_7547

IMG_7549

Ticket to enter Galata Tower is 13 TL (for foreigner), I don’t think it is cheap for small tower ~ but I can see beautiful scenery from the top of this tower. There is also restaurant in this tower, but I heard the price is expensive  ^^.

IMG_7574

Galata bridge.

IMG_7590

IMG_7593

I choose to walk & pass Galata bridge on my return way (instead of taking tram). I choose this option because I want to enjoy sunset from Galata bridge ~ seems nice, right ?

IMG_7601

There are many people fishing in this bridge.

IMG_7616

IMG_7631

IMG_7634

Beautiful scenery.

IMG_7635

Last photo shows my real situation in Istanbul ~ what do you guess ?

IMG_7653bw

I hope you enjoy some photos I took during my short journey in Istanbul. Comments, critiques, and suggestions are welcome. Thanks for visiting my blog and website.

13 thoughts on “Fly me to Istanbul

  1. Waaa mas Edwin aku mengiriiii, kemaren gak sempet masuk Ayasofia gak tau euy bisa beli tiket online, antriannya panjang banget jadi langsung ke Topkapi doang abis dari Blue Mosque, huuu…
    Mesti pergi lagi ini mah kayaknya ke Istanbul 😀
    Btw Cappadocia pergi mas?

    • Wah2 pas waktu itu kesana cuman 1 hari, nyampe airport jam 11:30 siang trus harus balik lagi ke airport lagi sebelum jam 2 pagi. Karena udah tau bakal mepet waktunya trus cari2 e-visa, e-ticket gitu2 untuk ngesave waktu. Sebelum pergi udah liat2, kayaknya klo buat foto2 Hagia Sophia bagus cuman waktu itu pas lagi reconstruction jadi sebagian masih ada scaffolding gitu…. Waktu itu gak ke Cappadocia soalnya itu harus naik pesawat local lagi, mungkin next time hehe…

      • Waktu itu jam 11 malah udah nyampe Blue Mosque padahal. Tapi emang waktu itu jadinya diguide sama kenalan (yang baru dikenal) di Turki jadi ngikutin pace mereka saja, bersama keluarga, hehe.. Kayaknya beneran mesti ke sana lagi deh ini, smoga bisa dalam waktu dekat 😀

  2. Hai, mau nanya dong. Beli e-ticket utk museum2 di Istanbul lewat muze itu bisa accept cc non turkey? Krn kebanyakan web di sana kayak atlasjet aja hanya terima cc turkey. Lalu kartunya kalau baca di web mesti dikirim ke alamat turki. Begitu ya? tolong infonya ya, makasih.

  3. Mas Edwin, mau bertanya dooong, rencananya minggu depan aku mau kabur ke Turki niiih.
    Itu e-ticket nya ntar dikirim ke imel kita trus tinggal print apa gimana ya mas? Barusan nyobain mau purchase e-ticket nya Hagia Sophia kok ada bagian shipping dan disuruh masukin alamat di Turki gitu :O

    • Dulu sih klo gak salah dapat dari email gitu trus tinggal diprint (dulu klo gak salah gak ada suruh masukin alamat di Turki), klo museum pass baru disuruh masukin alamat di Turki soalnya itu bakal dikirim ke alamat di Turki sana kartunya. Gak tau juga rasanya pas ngecek2 lagi udah beda sama yang dulu untuk yang e-ticket.

      • Huuu, iya ni mas, mestinya klo e-ticket mah gak perlu pake isi alamat ya >_<
        Kalo mesti dikirim (misalnya ke hotel) takutnya udah keburu pula, hiks.. Smoga ntar gak ngantri panjang deh, Hagia Sophia ni yang rame banget waktu dulu sempat mampir -_-

Leave a Reply

