Photomerge using Adobe Photoshop

It is simple tutorial about photomerge – I just write this article because my friend ask me about merging his photographs into single landscape photograph. I just can write this article today because recently I busy for pre-wedding service. The photographs that I used in this article are taken by S.C.Dai (my friend) using Canon EOS 60D with EF 24-105mm f/4L IS.

First, let see 5 photos before photomerge (similar with the cover of this article but in a little bit large size ^^).

Photo 1:

Photo 2:

Photo 3:

Photo 4:

Photo 5:

In order to merge the photo, you can use Photoshop (there are many ways but in this article I just explain the way by using Photoshop). Open Photoshop then go to File > Automate > Photomerge. After that you will see this dialog box:

You can try “layout” option in the left part of dialog box (each option produce different result).  I usually check blend images together as default. For vignette removal, I don’t think to check this option for this example (but maybe for different case, I will check it). I also prefer to correct geometric distortion later so I don’t need to check that option for this case.

Photoshop may require some time to process photomerge, so just wait and the result will be like this one:

The horizon of the sea level is not good IMHO, so I try to rotate a little bit. The result is like this one:

After that I crop the photos:

A little bit correction for geometric distortion, simply just use Filter > Lens Correction, then adjust remove distortion value in geometric distortion part. The result will be like this:

I hope you like this simple tutorial…. Comments are really appreciated. Thanks for visiting my blog and website.

One thought on “Photomerge using Adobe Photoshop

  1. You can make a bigger crop and then patch the sky and foreground using content aware fill… depending what look you want. Also its best to lock exposure for all pics. In this pano PS has done very well blending the diff exposures together.but when it doesn’t its a real pain in the ass trying to get it right

Leave a Reply

