Three Years Experience of Shooting Model

I write this article just to celebrate my three years experience for shooting model. I shoot Taiwan girl mostly ~ simply just because I stay in Taiwan. Honestly, I never learn photography when I stay in Indonesia ~ I start everything related to photography in Taiwan (from 2007) . I focused on shooting portrait (model) from 2008 ~ I still remember my first time shooting model (Dec 7th, 2008). Well, this article is about some steps that I got past three years of shooting model.

My first time photo session, I shoot about 450 photos (and most of them are the same, just different a little bit), most of them are not good in term of composition, framing, and lighting ~ at that time I just think to get many photos. I think it’s a common for the first time haha. I think this is the best photo I got from my first time photo session (I use 5D and EF 35mm f/1.4L).

The next photo session, I use two cameras because I feel shooting with different focal length can be interesting, maybe I can shoot different type of photographs. Below is the best photo (at that time) taken with my secondary camera (EOS Kiss Digital X / 400D) with EF 50mm f/1.8 II.

I just join 2 photo sessions in 2008 and I feel that most of my photos are crap……

Early 2009 I get 2 different lenses: EF 85mm f/1.2L II and EF 15mm f/2.8 fisheye. I personally like to use EF 85mm f/1.2L II ~ although I feel it’s heavy (motor also too slow). It’s difficult to use EF 85mm f/1.2L II, I just think that if I use f/1.2 then I can get blurred background (but sometimes it’s also miss the focus, and not easy to maintain the DOF). I also like EF 15mm f/2.8 but it’s more difficult to use because it’s too wide (so I need to shoot very close to the model…).

Some photos taken by using EF 85mm f/1.2L II in year 2009:

Some photos taken by using EF 15mm f/2.8  fisheye in year 2009:

I absent for shooting model from middle of  August to October 2009.  Late October 2009,  then I get EOS 5D mark II and start shooting model again.

Try to be different, I shoot some models which specific theme. I think there are 3 thematic photo albums in 2009….

First theme: Violinist (and nature)

Second theme: Princess

Third theme: Christmas

BTW, the first time I learn how to use external flash is simply just because I want to shoot model with Christmas theme. Previously I always think flash is not important but then finally I change that opinion hehe…..

In 2010, I try to develop my own portrait style which contains 7 elements: beauty, elegant, simple, artistic, lovely, natural and conceptual. I think some photos in 2010 is really better than my photos in 2009 ~ a little bit different in tone (brighter compare to previous tone in 2009) but still keep the natural/simply tone.

Some photos in 2010:

In year 2011, I finally own my dream lens EF 200mm f/2L IS. At first time, I just feel this lens is too heavy for me ~ I think I need monopod (instead of handheld). After handling this lens for several photo sessions I just feel it’s not heavy. The effect of compression and bokeh of this lens is really amazing.

Some photos taken by using EF 200mm f/2L IS:

Anyway the important thing in 2011 is not “EF 200mm f/2L IS” but “some mistaken photos collection” (means bad photos maybe because of wrong composition, wrong framing, wrong exposure, wrong camera setting, etc…). Previously I just share them in my Facebook (so my friends can see that take portrait is not just only click the camera). Later, I decide to write my own book just for sharing to everyone. Right now, I stopped for writing the book (temporary) because I busy for other things ~ but for sure I will finish it…. (but I don’t know when it can be finished haha…).

For anyone who likes my photographs, I just want to say that I start everything from zero…. step by step, improve and get better (no one can get good result instantly)….

Thanks for reading my article…

7 thoughts on “Three Years Experience of Shooting Model

  1. It is really awesome photos and sharing… so everybody can learn step-by-step and details “all about photography” from your experience. Thanks for your photos and useful photography tips and articles. Congratulations on your JAP’s 3rd anniversary. Do your best and good luck. GBU

    • Thanks Ben… I feel happy to share my experience….
      Some people sometimes just know the final result without know the process ~ so I think it’s good to share the process (step)….

Leave a Reply

