NTUST Graduation Day

June 14th, 2008 is graduation day for National Taiwan University of Science & Technology (NTUST) or 國立台灣科技大學 (in Chinese). In this important day I am not also graduation photographer but also as participant – because I will graduate on July 2008. This graduation day is a little bit different than graduation day in my country (Indonesia) – in Indonesia all participants should graduate then can join graduation ceremony – but in Taiwan all participants can join graduation ceremony no matter you already graduate or not. Indonesian student in NTUST have an association called by NTUST Indonesian Student Association (NTUST-ISA). Graduation ceremony actually start from 3 p.m. but we as Indonesian students in Taiwan have a culture to take a photo before the ceremony.

This photo is taken by my friend with Tamron 28-75mm f/2.8 attached with Kiss Digital X. Actually I want to take this photo but I don’t want to miss this moment so I just lend him my tripod. After take that photo, my other friend want to try my camera so I lend my camera to him. He takes many photos for single person, because it’s not very easy to use EF 35mm f/1.4L USM for group photo. I am very happy because he also takes my photo – I just use *basic editing to edit this photo so the light become superb. From the photos below you can see the difference between no editing and after editing, maybe I will make this *basic technique guide if I have a time. If you interesting about image editing using Photoshop maybe you can read this first – a little bit different but if you know the concept, it won’t be difficult to try edit other picture.

After that, he bring my camera to me – and I think now is my time to take photo. There are marching band that will guide “us” to the ceremony place – I don’t want to miss this moment so I take some photos for this marching band. I can say this marching band is very good – not only because all of them are girls (hehe) – but also their teamwork to play musical instrument. Using my EF 35mm f/1.4L USM to take this moment isn’t very convenient – I should use EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM or f/4L IS USM or f/2.8L IS (IS stands for image stabilization – want to know more you can read this link). You can see the difference between EF 70-200mm f/2.8L USM and f/2.8L IS USM in this link. I like the “girl” in second photo below – I think cute and beautiful – I hope she reading this article ^^.

Marching band is over and I take a photo to remember graduation moment like this photo below….

Finally I just say happy graduation day – I have one hope that I can graduate on July without a problem – I don’t know my Professor will let me go or not – I hope he will let me graduate hehe ^^

9 thoughts on “NTUST Graduation Day

  1. haha… disini bebas pakaiannya, bedanya mungkin yang maju dipanggil sama rektor hanya beberapa orang, gak semua wisudawan seperti di Indo….. hehe

  2. Jarang2 wisudawan kayak gue rela moto marching band di hari kelulusannya… wisudawan biasanya sibuk ngurusin foto diri sendiri pake toga – jadi seharusnya dia yang kenalan sama gue soalnya kok mau ya motret2 marching band di acara kelulusannya.

    • Hi..
      g mau tanya2 nih.. Rencananya g mau study di MTC(NTU), taipei.
      Tapi g mau tinggal di luar(bukan asrama).
      Ada rekomen daerah tempat tinggal yang aman dengan harga terjangkau tidak?
      Mohon pencerahannya yah bro..
      Thanx

  3. Yach ngaku2 wisudawan lagi… ha3…
    Tetep donk kalo buat orang indonesia mah wisudawan cuma buat yang lulus, kan lu blon lulus jadi blon bisa dibilang wisudawan hahaha…

  4. Pingback: Fisheye Effect using Photoshop CS 2 or CS 3 « Just about Photography

  5. @karel:
    sorry rada telat balasnya nih hehe…..
    klo mau nyewa rumah atau kamar buat tinggal bisa lihat2 ke web ini: http://www.591.com.tw/
    Coba aja cari yang deket daerah gongguan trus datangin tempatnya…. selamat berburu…

Leave a Reply

