Improve Photos by Cropping

I found this insect – it also known as red hornet – then I grab my camera to shoot it. I don’t have EF 100mm f/2.8 1:1 Macro USM so I only use my lovely EF 35mm f/1.4L USM to take this photo. It’s not easy to take this photo using EF 35mm f/1.4L USM because red hornet is small insect and this lens has limited minimum distance to focus the object. When I go to home, I only see the photo in the left part – for me I am still happy can take that photo – however I am not very satisfied of it. Then I open my Photoshop to do some simple post processing (like modifying level, contrast, brightness) to make it better. POI (POI stands for Point of Interest) in this photo is red hornet, but it’s only small object compare with the background – so I crop the left photo to make POI more clear. When you compare left photo and right photo, you’ll know the difference of them. For me cropping is very useful, especially to make your POI more clear and to clear some distraction background/foreground. Remember to save your original photo before cropping – so you still can do different post processing or cropping on the original photo. This photo also can be seen here.

Anyway, I have special promo for Outdoor Pre-wedding Service from 2012 Feb, 1 st – July, 31 st . If you’re interested, just click HERE.

2 thoughts on “Improve Photos by Cropping

  1. Pingback: Improve Photos by Cropping

  2. Pingback: Painting on Canvas Effect Using Photoshop CS 2 or CS 3 « Just about Photography

Leave a Reply

