Taipei 101 from Elephant Mountain

This is one of my best shot in 2007, I used EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM to take this photo. I have done some post processing on the image, so the photo looked beautiful. When I took this photo, I don’t use CPL (circular polarizing) filter so some part was done by Photoshop. I remember the weather when I took this photo is very good, not rainy and the sun shine very clear. For me, I like the light in the left part of photo and shadow in the right part; Taipei 101 in the center make it balance for the composition. You also can see this photo in my flickr, maybe you can give some comment or suggestion, thanks. More detail about Taipei 101 can be seen in wikipedia. Photoshop technique to make original photo become this photo can be seen here.

7 thoughts on “Taipei 101 from Elephant Mountain

  1. Pingback: Image Editing for Landscape Photography « Just about Photography

    • Thanks Kirk Hille,
      For sure you will get great shots of Taipei 101…
      Love your landscape photographs, nice ~~

  2. Hey Edwin!

    I love your photography. So much in fact, that I am looking to put something of yours in my apartment. I sent an email to your tyrandelf080 account. I would love to get a photo up in my apartment early this week if possible!

  3. Hi Edwin,

    Love your photographs, they are great! I was wondering if you could give me some more tips on taking landscape photos. I am trying various techniques (grad filters, ND filters, long exposure) and also some basic photoshop techniques (sometimes using the gradient tool with two exposures to bring out the sky and the foreground, and/or dodging and burning), but can’t seem to achieve the quality I’m looking for, I think it might be to do with what I’m doing in photoshop. I’m don’t really like surreal HDR photos and really like how you are able to achieve natural looking photos but with even lighting. If you have time, please take a look at some of my photos at http://www.flickr.com/photos/jpsearles/sets/72157627292242659/
    and if you have some suggestions on how I could improve them, I’d love to hear it 🙂

    Thanks!

    James

    • Thanks James….
      I have grad ND (Lee filter) and ND filter (B+W) but I seldom to use them…. Basically I also like to use photoshop to process landscape photograph. Dodge and burn technique is good but I seldom to use that, most of time I play with level, color balance and masking. In addition if I need color modification or more saturation I can use HSL adjustment layer. I have checked your works, really love your works ~ very nice!! Anyway now I rarely shoot landscape photographs because from the end of 2008 I focused to portrait photography… of course if I go traveling then I will shoot landscape photographs rather than portrait…

      Best,
      Edwin

Leave a Reply

