Enhancing Color and Tone by Using Photoshop

IMG_1427beforeafter

I write this tutorial for everyone who like editing tone in Photoshop. In this tutorial I just use one curve layer adjustment to achieve the result (like above), simple way as usual. In this tutorial I just limit for some photographs which almost same for the tone and color balance (for all sample photographs here, I just try to enhance the tone to a little bit combination of pink and purple).  Of course, after you read this tutorial maybe you can try to enhance the tone to specific color depends on the mood and theme of your photographs.

Steps:

1. Open your photograph in Photoshop.

For this tutorial I use this photo, I took this photo with 5D Mark II + EF 200mm f/2L IS.

IMG_1427original

2. Add curve adjustment layer and adjust curve in red channel.

After you add curve adjustment layer, you will see curve adjustment layer box. Just change RGB to Red channel and make the curve like this one (you need one lower point and one higher point: for lower point you can adjust output: 70 and input:60 , for higher point you can adjust output: 200 and input: 180). Of course you can modify the number depend on specific color you want to enhance, for this example I just want to enhance pink and purple tone.

redcurve

The result after step 2:

IMG_1427redcurve

3. Adjust curve in green channel.

Using the same curve adjustment layer, just change the channel to green. I just make the curve with one point for green channel (adjust the output: 190 and input: 180).

greencurve

The result after step 3:

IMG_1427greencurve

4. Adjust curve in blue channel.

Using the same curve adjustment layer, just change the channel to blue. For this channel, I adjust the curve like the picture below (for lower point you can adjust output: 100 and input: 80, for higher point you can adjust output: 190 and input: 190).

bluecurve

Result after step 4:

IMG_1427bluecurve

5. Adjust RGB channel (final step)

I just add this step to make the photographs brighter. Simply just change back the channel to RGB and make the curve like the picture below (adjust the output: 135 and input: 120).

rgbcurve

Final result:

IMG_1427final

Before and After Comparison:

IMG_1427beforeafter

Other Examples (edited with the similar way) :

Photo 1 – before :

IMG_2925original

Photo 1 – after :

IMG_2925final

Photo 2 – before :

IMG_2145original

Photo 2 – after:

IMG_2145final

In the end of this tutorial I just hope you can learn something from this tutorial. Maybe you have a question about how to adjust the curve (and how to determine the points in curve) to get specific result that you want. Simply you will know how to modify the curve to get specific result by trial & error. For sure, after several trials you will know the characteristic of the curve and you will know how to modify it to get specific result.

6 thoughts on “Enhancing Color and Tone by Using Photoshop

  1. Hi,

    I’ve been looking at your photography, and I really like it. :) I love the bokeh from your lens(es). May I ask what lenses you use, and camera body? If not, it’s okay. :)

    For this tutorial, I can understand why you do it. But for my taste, I actually like the “before” images more than the “after” images.

    Anyhow, take care,
    Huy

    • Hi Huy,
      Thanks for your comment.
      I use 5D mark II and EF 200mm f/2L IS.

      Regarding before and after, you can see in my other photo albums – you will know that I put the “before” images instead of “after” images. I still love my original style ~ but other people maybe like to add some tones / enhance the color for their photographs so I try to create an article about it. Well, of course everyone has their own taste.

      • Hi,

        Thank you for the response. Ah, a nice long lens with wide aperture. Nice! :D Love the bokeh. Thanks for the info.

        Yes, I definitely see you don’t do the tones in your other images, like the example tutorial here. I knew it was on a tutorial basis. :)

        Thank you,
        Huy

  2. Pingback: Migliorare colori e toni usando Photoshop - sastgroup.com

  3. Pingback: Migliorare colori e toni usando photoshop

  4. Pingback: Best Photoshop techniques of 2013 - Seize Design

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 169 other followers

